Attitude · Christian · Good Words · Happy · Healing · Helping · His Love · Inspirational · Life · life lessons · Lifecheck · Self-Love · thoughts

Listen To Your Emotions

Our emotions serve as an essential function that connects us to what is truly important – for they remain an important role in our life.

Emotions communicate to others. We know when to feel sad, happy, anxious, scared, and confused. It’s our human nature.

Emotions motivate our actions. Having fear motivates our impulse to turn/run away. Sadness motivates us to heal. Anger motivates us to protect ourself. Happiness motivates us to gravitate to what is making us happy.

Humans naturally and automatically move towards what feels good, and away from what feels bad, including emotions.

I came across an awesome guideline to our emotions and how it teaches us.

Bitterness: Shows you where you need to heal, where you’re still holding on judgment on others and yourself.

Resentment: Shows that you are living in the past and not letting the present to be as it is.

Anger: Shows you what you are passionate about, where your boundaries are, and what you believe needs to change.

Disappointment: Shows that you are tired of something that you still care for.

Discomfort: Shows that you need to pay attention right now to what is happening. It shows you to do something different than what you typically do.

Anxiety: Shows that you need to wake up and that you need to be present in the now. Also, that you are stuck in the past and living with the fear of the future.

Sadness: Shows you the depth of your feelings, emotions and the depth of your care and compassionate to others.

It is because of our emotions how we react to what we think and do.

It’s okay to be upset

It’s okay to be angry

It’s okay to feel stuck

It’s okay to feel confused

It’s okay to feel lonely

It’s okay to feel hurt

It’s okay to cry

It’s okay to not be okay

Above ALL of these. Be kind, be true, be easy on yourself and refuse to let negative feelings trigger.

When I am grumpy – I miss out on goodness around me.

When I am angry – I miss out on love.

Side note –

Meaning behind my choice of featured photo. I love sunsets. I love sunrises. It’s an escape for me from reality. The nastiness, the meanness, and the chaos in the world. It calms me in a way where I find myself lost in the mystery of God’s grace and love. When I am captivated by the artwork of His doing the world around me is shut out and it’s only me and God talking.

All my cares. All my worries. All my fears. They are laid at His feet.

I’ve backslid from just that. I forget how peaceful I become when shutting off from the world for just 30 minutes and just sitting in awe of His masterpiece. That’s all it takes, I ask myself? WOW! Just 30 minutes of my morning or my night to just sit in quietness and peace to enjoy the sunset/sunrise.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Psalms 51:10

Leave a Reply

